Based on Twitter discussion, the United General Assembly will start at 7pm Central Time (8pm EST, 5pm Pacific). This is the agenda for discussion:

  • Is sustainable living a viable solution to the various socioeconomic problem and food crises we face? (Link: Occupy San Diego proposal)
  • What can we do to prevent Monsanto’s further takeover of our food supply, unethical control over the world’s farms, and poisoning of our planet? (Occupy Austin, see below)
  • Do the United General Assemblies endorse the April 14 Immigration Day of Action? (Link: Occupy Birmingham Day of Action)

Along with other occupations worlwide, Occupy Austin has taken part in several actions with Monsanto, the massive agribusiness which is poisoning our water, our food supply, our planet and our very bodies. On Monday, we will return to College Station, Texas with the aid of local occupiers and Occupy Houston to once again demand that Monsanto immediately cease its operations in the state. What can we do to prevent Monsanto’s further takeover of our food supply, unethical control over the world’s farms, and poisoning of our planet?

The United General Assembly will unite multiple occupations in shared discussion. 7 assemblies will participate on March 17, 2012, the 6 month birthday of Occupy Wall Street.

In Austin, the United General Assembly will occur after the Million Musician March For Peace, a huge action in which Occup Austin is uniting with community peace activists, and many musicians both local and from around the world for a huge day of action beginning at noon at our capitol, and ending at Austin City Hall where the #UnitedGA will take place. We anticipate one of our largest attended assemblies ever.

The follow assemblies are scheduled to participate:

One Response

  1. Occupy Wall Street Houston would like to join the united GA

Leave a Reply